The Mecca of New Years Eve – Times Square!

20161225_234533

With all of my travels to New York City a question I often got asked was “did you go see the ball drop this year?” Even though I had been there for the past 2 years on New Years Eve, I always replied “No” because it’s not really what native New Yorkers do on New Years Eve, they much prefer a good house party, not the madness of thousands of people in a crowd.

My close friend decided she was going to come down to NYC with me for New Years Eve and I thought this would be the perfect chance to go see the ball drop (with another tourist!). So a few weeks before heading down I convinced my fiance to take us to Times Square to watch the ball drop (he knew some people that would get us access to the main block). I could not have been more excited, and my friend and I were on cloud nine, about what we were going to witness. Watching the ball drop for me had always been a tradition to throw on at a party (growing up in Canada) no matter where I was I would always watch the New York City Ball Drop.

20161225_234526

Pretty sure that’s Mariah Carey!

I won’t get too into logistics because there are so many people there that I don’t think any two people’s experience is going to be the same on a night like New Years. We faced about an hour of walking around trying to get to our destination simply because of road closures and police barriers. My main tip is don’t get discouraged by this as even on the walk to our destinations there were great views that you could still see the ball!

20161225_235438

I’ve linked a short video I took of the celebrations and included lots of pictures in this post because really although it’s a blog post, this was also a huge bucket list item checked off and something I wanted to document for myself and all my lovely readers. The energy in Times Square at midnight was electric! I couldn’t help but get very emotional, surrounded by friends and loved ones in the most magical place in the world.

fb_img_1482734903074

Leave a comment